Share Your World, Week 17

If you’ve been following along, this is my 4th week of participation in the Share Your World Project, and I like it immensely!  It allows me to tell you something about myself without self consciously saying  “hey! look at me!”—I’m not a big fan of being on stage!

This week’s topics:

At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?

Would you believe, just yesterday?!  It’s absolutely true!  Maggie and I have been ruminating about buying a two person kayak. Yesterday we went to the 29th Annual Vero Beach Boat Show and decided this is the one for us:

Tribe 2 person  Kayak

Learning something new is exciting!

As the caption says, I’m thrilled to attempt something new!  We live between the Indian River and the Atlantic and this sleek number can travel both!  Primarily we’ll take it on the river to explore  little islands and look for dolphins and manatees!  Fun for us to do as mother and daughter and wicked good  for when the boys visit. :)

What individual item of food would you not eat, even if it was served to you at the Queen/President’s dinner table? (Something ordinary.)

Not sure if this is ordinary, but the first thing that came to mind is caviar!  I’ve been to several functions/cocktail parties where people rave about it, but the sheer thought of swallowing slimy round fish eggs gives me agita! :arrow: Italian indigestion, for those unfamiliar with the term!  I grew up in a predominantly Italian area where “don’t give me agita!” was a common refrain!

If you could choose between Wisdom and Luck, which one would you pick?

I already feel I’ve been unbelievably lucky throughout my life…I win contests quite often, and I somehow land on my feet when I absolutely shouldn’t.  So I guess I  chose “Wisdom” so I don’t always have to rely on good luck?  :razz: :)

What was the last time you went to a new place?

Last Tuesday, we had our certification ceremony at The Indian River Garden Club. After the little graduation we were treated to a lovely lunch there, too!  Given my interest in plants and horticulture, it’s funny to think I’d never laid eyes on the place before snapping this shot on the way in:

Garden Club of Indian River CountySo now that you know a bit more about me, why not discover the other 30+ participants?   You can get started by clicking this link!

Until next time…..

16 thoughts on “Share Your World, Week 17

    • Hi Cee!
      I’m playing catch-up with comments today, and appreciate the kind words! This is just an FYI, but I want you to know: If my participation with Share Your World falls behind in the next few weeks, it’s because my sons are here on vacation: One is here now and goes back north on Wednesday…the other will be arriving next Saturday and staying for 10days. Thanks again!!

  1. Don’t give me agita! LOL. I lived in Brooklyn, NY for a very long time and hung around Italians all the time at work, I can’t tell you how many times I heard that refrain!

  2. Oh what fun. I enjoyed your answers to the questions very much. I’d take wisdom too, not that luck wouldn’t be welcome. ;) And a big yuck on caviar too… Going out exploring the area and the islands in your new watercraft sounds like loads of fun. :)

    • hello! thanks you for leaving a comment!
      OMG, it was SO fun!! we went out in the kayak for the first time this past tuesday night from 630pm to sunset! What a lovely night it was and we laughed our you-know-whatses off at how RIDICULOUS we looked trying to hoist this big 73lb thing up and down from the car and then bumbling around climbing into it. Lots of fun, though and I’m sure after a few more days of it, we’ll have a system and feel like its old hat!

    • Hi Gilly! Best idea we’ve had in a long time. I bought a life-vest, and didn’t go all bargain/skimpy since I’m not a strong swimmer. In the interest of safety, I had a fitting at the outdoor outfitters where everything was adjusted for my height/weight etc… it seems like money well spent. (especially for something you buy only once!)

  3. Congrats on your new kayak. Looks like so many new adventuures to unravel. Loved the gorgeous photos you shared too. And cavair? I think everyone is just embarrassed to say they also don’t like it. I believe there is a nation of socialites who claim they love it but deeply are repulsed by those slimy eggs. Seriously!
    LOL….

    • thanks, Clare!! We thoroughly enjoyed our first foray down the river a few nights ago and will be taking out again tomw! One of my sons is here for the week and I think it will be especially fun for one of us to take him out in it, too!

  4. Pingback: ‘Worts and all! | small house/BIG GARDEN

Everyone has an opinion....what's yours?

