Weekly Photo Challenge: Today

Today the weather was overcast and threatening rain. Not a good day for snapshots of flora, but excellent conditions for sneaking up on fauna. :cool:  Case in point:

Unidentified Tree Frog, Florida

Tree Frog, Florida

Peekaboo!

I checked the Florida Frog and Toad Image Index in hopes of identifying our amphibian friend, but the best I can tell you is what it’s not! It’s definately NOT the Cuban Tree Frog, an invasive species I see constantly, hiding in the tanks of my tillandsias and bromeliads.

I waited and watched for a bit, to see where he’d venture next:

This is why they call them tree frogs!

Is this what they mean by “tree hugger?!” ;)

In short order, he rounded the tree to the orchid pots:

Florida Tree Frog near orchid pots

Tree Frog takes a stretch!

Ahhhhhh……that feels good! :)

Muscles warmed up, he peeked over the edge:

Tree Frog, ready to jump!

Is the coast clear?

And then he was gone!!

I like to think he went off in pursuit of a friend….perhaps visiting the turtle who lives in our yard, or the moles who raise tunnels in my gardens each night.

A real life Wind in the Willows is such a pleasant thought on a grey and showery day! :)

Wind in the Willows

Wind in the Willows (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Today

  1. I think it looks like the toads we have around here. I’m always happy to see them in my yard and garden because they do such a great job helping with pest control. When you find out what species it is and I hope it’s a good one for your region. :)

  2. great shots! I’ve been trying to take some photos of our resident toads but the light and the toads haven’t been very co-operative so far! Love the link to Wind In The Willows :)

    • thank you!
      Wind in the Willows was everyone’s favorite book, yeah? When my son Jack fell in love with it as a little boy I was so excited to relive it again through the eyes of childhood!
      Hope you get some shots of your toads! I’m curious if they look similar to their Yankee cousins!

  3. What an exciting fauna in your very backyard. What an interesting and magnificent toad. I bet he’s one happy fella. Lucky friends, Mr. mole and Mr. Turtle. Thanks for sharing this wonderful adventure.

    • Thank you so much for the kind words! (and what a great idea, actually!)
      I had been thinking about incorporating something like that. :)
      Living in a very warm climate makes growing anything very easy, and now that we’re in rainy season, the daily downpours keep everything green without too much effort.

Comments are closed.