Weekly Photo Challenge: Friendship

For the past 7 days, I’ve considered the meaning and implications of friendship. I’ve thought about the forms it can take and their sometimes temporal nature. There are childhood friends, lifelong friends, and friends of convenience from work or the neighborhood.

What of friendships borne of familial happenstance?

Jack and Maggie, 1991

Will they be friends because they are siblings?

Being an only child, I don’t have first hand knowledge of friendship bonds among siblings, and I remember wondering about it when I took this picture of my (now adult) Irish Twins. :)

Thus far, it seems they and their older brother consider each other the closest of friends:

tcjackmaggie2011

“two of the funniest and nicest humans alive. we actually look alike here!” Maggie, from Facebook, May 30, 2011

Because it seems fitting,  I’d like to close with this beautiful song of friendship.  Enjoy!

Time it was, and what a time it was,

it was a time of innocence

a time of confidences….

long ago it must be, I have a photograph

preserve your memories, they’re all that’s left you

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Friendship

  1. I think it’s wonderful when siblings are the best of friends, having survived childhood together. Brothers and sisters can grow stronger for the experience…or they can grow distant. I’m sorry to say that being the youngest of 9, the latter was my lot. The eldest left home at an early age to make their way because my mom was widowed at 30. The 2 with whom I grew up, a sister and brother, were close to each other…with me bringing up the rear. When she left home, he and I grew closer out of necessity. Through the years I’ve touched base with my siblings from time to time, but never for long. Too much water under the bridge, and I’ll always be considered the youngest…even at 62. So I wish them happiness…and live my life happily with my husband, daughter, and community of friends.

    …it’s priceless…that your children…are friends. :)

  2. A beautiful post :) Thank you for pingback :) and most of all for posting one of my all-time favourite songs in the video here :)

    • Awww…thank you!
      My first child was born 4 years before my daughter. He used to refer to the her and his younger brother as “the babies” and he and I still say it sometimes to be funny….especially since they’re 6ft babies nowadays!

      i appreciate your leaving a comment. I did a good “look-see” of the many photos at your blog, btw and they are so impressive! I especially like the ones of that pitstop along a highway where I noted a sign with an arrow pointing north, indicating the “Arctic Circle” was a mere 2hrs ahead! Yikes!!

      Thanks for coming by!

  3. Yes :) I remember getting their Old friends LP for my 17th bday time ago from my two best friends :) These days I only listen to their mp3 and I have all of their albums, but the memory of that first gift is still with me. Happy listening Karen!

Comments are closed.