Red White and Blue: Patriotic in the Garden!

To honor our 4th of July national holiday, I thought I’d show you my red, white and blue blooming plants! But first, a tropical salute from a Bromeliad that incorporates all three colors:

Neoregelia Spectabilis with tiny flower blooms

Neoregelia Spectabilis  proudly wears the red, white and blue!

Next is Salvia Nemorosa, a volunteer in my rear cutting garden. If you see the birdie who “dropped” it off, please thank her for me! :)

Salvia Nemorosa

These pretty blue flowers have such a lovely scent!

On the garage side of the house, a plumbago hedge is fully decked out:

Plumbago hedge

Trusses of pale blue flowers wave like flags on a breezy day! Pretty!

Right behind the fence, a recently pruned Aloysia Virgata, still sports a few white blooms:

Almond Bush with spiky white flower clusters

Doesn’t it look like a firecracker?!

I know you’ll never guess this next plant :!: Well, maybe someone will…….

Who am I?

One more chance?  Perhaps a zoom-out to the whole plant will help?

Dog Fennel

Did anyone guess Dog Fennel?

Call me crazy :roll: but this particular dog fennel grew so big (and was so covered with tiny flowers!) I HAD to keep it around…at least until the tiny buds morph into fluff!  When that happens?  Sayonara city!

–Tip for removing plants with dandelion-type “fluff” :arrow: Cover the “offender” with an appropriately sized trash bag; clench the bag tightly around the base, then yank until the roots break free.  Using a bag helps eliminate reseeding…..and sneezing! :)

That’s it for  blue and white, so now we’re at the Ranchero for a little red:

Canna with bent stem

If you’re thinking that Canna is too close to the ground, you’re right!  By this time of summer,  the more mature cannas have sent up several blooming stalks. Each stalk adds a foot or more to the stem, making it prone to “wind bend.”  As soon as the flowers fall off, I’ll cut this one back to its uppermost foliage–no sneeze bag required! ;)

And now, I’m off to an evening holiday barbecue and backyard fireworks!

Until next time…..

Happy Independence Day from Small House!

Happy Independence Day 2012 from Small House!

14 thoughts on “Red White and Blue: Patriotic in the Garden!

    • Me, too! It’s one of my faves this summer, and I’m even more thrilled that it landed in a good spot!!
      Thank you so much, Gilly, for always being so encouraging and supportive. I appreciate it! :)

  1. Great photos! I grew Cannas up here one summer, but – being without a cellar – had no place to over-winter them, so gave them to someone who could. One summer only, of their beautiful, tropical blooms, but quite spectacular. Yours look outstanding, too. Thanks!

  2. Amazing… ;-) ღ˚ •。* ♥ ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。*˛˚ღ •˚ ˚ Happy Independence Day Greetings! ˚ ✰* ★˚. ★ *˛ ˚♥* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ ♥ 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ˚ 。✰ •* ˚ ♥

  3. It’s hard not to envy your long growing season, as well as your obvious skill at growing beautiful plants. By the way, where did the northern attitude come from?

    • Boston! and classicly so–i’m exactly half italian/half irish, like so many people there. my grandparents from both sides were all 1920s immigrants. Interestingly, I spent my youth in an Italian enclave neighborhood much like the one you’ve described, where I often heard an italian neighbor reply “to the moon, wanna come?” when asked where she was going. As I’ve gotten older and thought back on the era, I’ve wondered if that was an “Italianism” or a Space Race thing? what do you think?

      • I think it was a space race thing, spiced up with a little Italian sarcasm — the idea of anyone going to the moon back then probably seemed impossible, so for my mother or your neighbor to suggest that they were going would have been the perfect response to an annoying question.

Everyone has an opinion....what's yours?

