Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

For this week’s challenge, I’m sharing tree silhouettes.

This Queen Palm (Syagrus romanzoffiana) is located behind the gate to my rear yard.  When I took this picture at 7:01pm, I thought a wierd lens-smudge caused the white spot in the sky. Nay-nay!!  ‘Twas merely the waxing crescent moon! ;)

Backyard Queen Palm Silhouhette, October 20, 2012

Fourteen hours later the sun returned, creating a daylight silhouette among the heart-shaped leaves of my Bauhinia tree:

There are over 200 species of Bauhinia and I have yet to determine where mine fits.  (I’ve had several landscapers (I fire them frequently! ha!) each tell me something different. :shock:)  Based on flower characteristics and the October-December bloom time, I’m leaning toward Bauhinia Purpurea.

Although not exactly a silhouette picture, I thought you’d like to see the first Bauhinia bloom of the 2012 season (taken Oct.22nd:)

Bauhinia Flower Bud Cluster, October 22, 2012

Until next time,  take a peek at other silhouette interpretations via the Zemanta links below!

:) :)

22 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

    • Thanks!
      Last year it barely flowered due to two previous winters during which overnight temps dropped to the 30s for several weeks in a row…atypical! Last winter was normal (it didn’t happen!) so in spring I fertilized the tree heavily twice, hoping to coax it out of hiding. It paid off BIG! The leaves this summer were amazingly full and the branches grew long. Now they’re literally covered with flower buds! In a few weeks it should be worthy of a picture to share with you all!

  1. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: October 24, 2012 | small house/BIG GARDEN
  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette (2nd Submission) | small house/BIG GARDEN
  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Silhouette « melonpopzdropz …
  4. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: November 21, 2012 | small house/BIG GARDEN
  5. Pingback: My tree is going ballistic! | small house/BIG GARDEN

Everyone has an opinion....what's yours?

