Nature’s Way on a Rainy Day

What a rainy weekend we’ve had along the Treasure Coast—downpours for the better part of two days!  On Friday morning, I planted a half package of morning glory seeds directly into my perimeter garden–undoubtedly they’ve washed away to who-knows-elsewhere in the yard.  Guess I should have checked my weather app more closely, but it might’nt have mattered…nature has its own timetable, despite our best efforts to control it.

Nevertheless, I went out during a lull in the storm to snap a few pictures–I love how the Ranchero looks when the sky is grey and there’s water droplets about…see if you don’t agree!

Pincushion Cactus in BloomAnything that flowers in winter is a favorite of mine; I like its spirit!  I bought this Pincushion Cactus from the Target on the next block, just before they closed their Garden Center forever. (Woe was me, that day!  😦 )

Columnea aka Dolphin VineCavorting in the water isn’t a problem for this next plant! I received the Columnea above as part of a Spring Hill Nursery grab bag. I’d never heard of “Dolphin Vine” but was delighted to find it among the items they sent last summer. It’s grown so much, I’ve since divided and repotted it into 3 containers; I’ve rooted quite a few cuttings from it, too!

Another winter bloomer is the Kalanchoe Gastonis Bonnieri…now THAT’s a mouthful! I prefer to call it Mexican Donkey Ears, which technically is inaccurate because this succulent has nada to do with Mexico and mucho to do with Madagascar.  One of the best descriptions of this plant’s history can be found here, and one of the prettiest pictures of it, here:

Mexican Donkey Ears😉 I admit to being biased, but this particular plant IS pretty, yeah?  In two weeks or so, the pink buds will open into beautiful bell shaped flower clusters. As one of the original Ranchero “baby” plants from winter of 2010, I’m very excited to witness its first bloom. The fact that it survived two years in which Vero Beach experienced several weeks of hard freezes, is remarkable!

Even though it was raining, not snowing, it began to look a lot like Christmas today:

First Christmas Cactus Bloom of 2011The first Christmas Cactus flower of the 2011 season opened alone amidst a downpour, another reminder that nature ALWAYS finds its way, even when circumstances aren’t ideal, and conditions are downright negative.    Something to ponder…..

Until next time……

4 thoughts on “Nature’s Way on a Rainy Day

    • This is the first year I’ve gotten the Christmas Cactus to actually rebloom! Last year, just as the buds were about to open, we got a 10day hard freeze (highly atypical!) and they were destroyed! No bad weather predicted between now and the holiday, so my two other specimens should open, too!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter……Out with the (C)old!!!! | small house/BIG GARDEN
  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.