Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

The 2009 National Survey on Drug Use and Health found that nearly two million Americans were dependent on, or abusing, opiate painkillers. The Center for Disease Control characterizes it as an “epidemic”, saying Oxycontin, Vicodin and Percocet are more commonly abused than ANY other types of drug, legal or illicit.  Chances are you know a friend/relative/coworker caught in an opiate grip…at the very least you know me.  Let me show you what hope can look like when an addict chooses recovery:

Methadone Clinic

Hope can be found at a methadone clinic

I struggled with opiates long before it became the addiction of the decade, and was never successful stopping on my own.  Like most, I rebelled at the idea of methadone clinics: liquid handcuffs…deadbeats…all the stereotypical judgments!!  I thought they were places frequented by people who weren’t like me….and the day I finally got to one, I realized how right I was, but for all the wrong reasons:  They WEREN’T like me…they were already on the way to getting better and I was little more than a jerk with ridiculous biases!

The point of this post (beyond sharing an ugly stock photo when I typically share a nice one!) is education.   If you, or someone you know, needs help with sobriety, start with the Samhsa.gov site and read their voices of recovery pages. Pay special attention to Walter Ginter’s story, and then check out the  advocacy organization he founded.  Look into the myriad of resources offered via Narcotics Anonymous or Alcoholics Anonymous if NA doesn’t meet in your area.

Treatment is effective. People do Recover. There IS hope!

Until next time, enjoy February’s first blooms from the Ranchero:

Coreopsis

Yellow flowers signify hope for a sunny future!

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope For The Birds… | Mirth and Motivation
  2. I typically reply seperately to comments I receive, but since they were all fairly similar, I think one reply is ok.
    To everyone who commented:
    I started blogging for many reasons, but most importantly to begin a family history. I’m an only child. My father passed in 2006, my mother is 78, so there is no one alive from my grandparents’ generation, on either side of the family. There’re lots of things I’d love to know about my people but no one around to fill in the info gaps. I thought blogging would be a nice way to ensure that my kids’ kids (should there be any) not find themselves at age 55 wondering who,what,when,where and why.
    Although I post mainly about gardening, I’ve been using the wordpress photo challenges to address subjects of a more personal nature. In those weekly postings I’ve talked about my kids, my thoughts, and life in general. I knew from the very beginning that I would have to mention my drug addiction–i was an activer user for 20+ years, and although I’ve been clean for the past 5.5, the ‘active’ period played an enormous role in the family story.
    As with any story, where things are revealed within the narrative makes an enormous difference. If I’d mentioned “recovering drug addict” in the “about” section, a fair percentage of people would roll their eyes, make snap judgments, and never look at my plants! But to pretend it never happened is to leave out most of my life! I hoped I’d know instinctively when to work it in, and last week’s photo challenge struck me as perfect. I appreciate every single comment left above and I know that by replying at all, you ‘get it.’

    again, my sincerest thank yous to all of you!

  3. I agree wholeheartedly that treatment is the answer to drug addition (as opposed to jail sentences). For some reason, people assume that only illegal drugs are additive. Personally, I think the prescribed drugs are just as dangerous. Either way, I am sure for many people, methadone clinics have changed their lives and given them their freedom from dependency back again. Good choice of posts for the topic of ‘hope’.

  4. I think one of the most positive things in blogging is the way we can use our blogs to express ourselves, and share with friends, family and new friends. You are certainly doing that! I still think you are remarkable for your honesty.
    Looking forward to a wonderful shared gardening year 🙂

  5. Thank you Orples (that is SUCH a cute name) and Claire. I appreciate your encouragement and good vibes. 🙂 Blogging has been such a positive experience in terms of sharing and feedback..I look forward to seeing what everyone has in store as the weeks go on. 🙂

  6. Beautiful!!! Seeds of hope can grow and flourish from your hands, who knows where the winds will take them where they are most needed.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia | small house/BIG GARDEN
  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Good Morning! | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.