Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted

Although I mainly blog about gardening, I’ve been using the WordPress photo challenges to address subjects of a more personal nature. Stories of my kids, my thoughts and life-at-large have been shared without chronology or emphasis, in the way of a meandering chat among friends. If this blog is my conversation with generations to come, the reply will be in their interpretations….And if all of this sounds straightforward instead of distorted, bear in mind I haven’t shared this week’s photo yet.

First though, context before controversy!

My first experience living in the South was in 1983 when we moved to the northern Virginia suburbs of Washington D.C.  During our 6 years in the Fairfax County area, we lived within a 30minute ride of Manassas, home of several Civil War battlegrounds. and historic attractions.  Given the location and background of the area,  I wasn’t too bothered by the Confederate Flag, (originally, the batlle flag of the Army of Northern Virgina) being displayed in shops, restaurants, etc. along with other Confederate novelties and souvenirs.   In 1988, we moved back North and I can count on one hand how many times I saw the symbol again.

For the past two years, we’ve been back below the Mason-Dixon line, and frequently seeing it flown as a symbol of Southern Pride.  This past week, I snapped this:

Confederate Flag

I cannot say what is in this person’s heart or why the Confederate flag waves here daily, but I do know one thing: our American Flag should not be sharing the same post with it!

I don’t like distorted thinking!  😡

Until next time……

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted

  1. I do confess to not knowing about theses things regarding flags of America. But I do love the idea that people fly flags and are proud. This country could learn from this act. How ever love the post.. and educational.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted « Flickr Comments by FrizzText
  3. Pingback: Distorted architectures: Weekly Photo Challenge (Distorted) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL
  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted « Mike Hardisty Photography
  5. A very stirring message. You are so right; the two flags should not be sharing the same post. The implication of the confederate flag distorts the meaning of the American flag.

    • Oh you definitely hit the nail RIGHT on the head! Seeing them waving together like that irritates me, and your last sentence beautfiully explains why I feel that way! thank you!!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted Words | ♥ Project 365 ♥ Challenge ♥
  7. Pingback: Photo Weekly Challenge: Distorted Image | N. E. White
  8. Sadly, I think the connotations behind the Confederate flag taint what it might actually be meant to convey for those actually flying it these days. I was raised in the north (Upper Michigan, that’s pretty far north!) and also spent 6 years in the DC area (PG County, Maryland side). I’ve seen the best and worst of people and am always inspired by the history of a “thing” as opposed to the meaning most people have put behind it. I’ve lived in North Florida for 16 years now and have never been so bombarded by Southern pride as I have here on the Florida/Georgia border. I think pride is a good thing, regardless of what one is as a whole. That American flag is still waving and I think that means something, too!

    Way to get a discussion going!! I love a meaningful discussion with respectful people, you’ve provided just that!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted | Inspired Vision

Comments are closed.