Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

Established in 1932, McKee Botanical Garden is one of the prettiest spots in Vero Beach. Although it flourished during the family car trip years (after WWII through the 1960s,) the park closed in 1975 due to financial problems. Over the next 2 decades, all but 18 of the original 88 acres were sold off, as contractors and businesses cashed in on Florida’s booming construction industry.

Enter the Indian River Land Trust, whose mission is “to promote the preservation, conservation and improvement of Indian River County’s natural resources and special places for the benefit of the general public and future generations.”   They bought and restoried the remaining acreage, saving McKee from all further commercial development.  Since then, this beautiful oasis has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places and endorsed by the Garden Conservancy as a project of national significance.

On Wednesday my friend Ivana and I strolled the reborn garden paths, taking lots of pictures.   I’m working on an in-depth McKee Gardens pictorial that I’ll share soon, but one of the shots works well for this week’s photo challenge:

through the palm trees

Looking through the palm trees

 As I was taking the picture, I thought the trees looked like bars on a window or a barricade to an entrance; .I envisioned land developers looking through in dismay, angry at being kept out! 😯

Until next time.. 🙂

Related articles

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

  1. Oooh thanks for what I think is a pingback!
    Are there more photos of this lovely place? Long may the land trust keep out the nasty developers!

    • yup that’s a pingback! I realized i hadn’t read your blog as often as i’d like lately so i thought I’d see if i could do a pingback to make up for it. 🙂 glad it worked. and regarding more photos of mckee…i’ve got quite a few that i’ll post as a seperate entry in the future..saving them for a day i don’t know what to write about!!!

  2. Beautiful photograph. I am looking forward to in-depth McKee Gardens pictorial, which you will share soon. I hope it must, be something really wonderful.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Arranged | small house/BIG GARDEN
  4. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: October 3, 2012 | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.