Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

This week’s challenge asks for photos that highlight “the shapes and rhythms that make up the geometry of our world.”  At first I thought it would be difficult, but on a trip to the beach last Sunday, I noticed geometry all around me: 🙂

Geometry abounds at Jaycee Beach

Cement cubes, triangular shadehouses, and hedges sculpted to look like arcs…..all examples of applied mathematics at work.

But geometry is not the province of man alone.

Nature reveals her own complex pattern of spirals and swirls. The Fibonacci Sequence (a common geometric curve structure) is seen in seashells and cresting waves:

Geometry in Seashells

And what of hyperbolic geometry in which the surface of an object curves away from itself along any given point?  Coincidentally, marine organisms with “ruffles”  grow in ways that perfectly illustrate the mathematical form of hyperbolic geometry, like this piece of coral washed ashore on Jaycee Beach:

Flower frog for a mernaid

For more information on Hyperbolic Geometry, check out this YouTube lecture:

To see how other bloggers interpreted this week’s challenge, click the Zemanta links below:

Until next time…..

🙂 🙂

11 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

  1. Those photos of the shell and coral are great! And I like the description of hyperbolic geomoetry. My wife is a scientist and I was at first surprised at how many of the scientists I met through her talk about the beauty of science. The more I read about it the more I agree.

    • 🙂 I can’t say I fully (or even half!) understand the concept of Hyperbolic Geometry but I do agree that science can be beautiful, particularly biology.
      Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. I totally appreciate it!

    • You are SO right about that…everyone needs to be respectful (and mindful) of nature’s limits.
      Thank you for finding my blog and leaving a comment! Now I’m heading off for a gander at yours. 🙂

  2. At first sight of the top picture, my eyes were focused on the greens and I thought, “How is this geometry?” Haha. Great photo, great interpretation! 😉

Comments are closed.