First Anniversary!

Last Thursday was more than just Thanksgiving; it was also the anniversary of my blog’s first year ❗

I’ve enjoyed every minute spent writing up (and sharing) the minutiae of my extremely small life. I’ve uploaded 143 posts, yet I’m STILL astonished by followers, likes, and comments. 🙂  Thank you!

To show my appreciation, I’d like to pay it forward: each week, I’ll be sharing one special blog (out of 58 million!! eek!!) that caught my attention. Some will be humorous, others philosophical; some I follow avidly, others I’ve merely bookmarked.  My list has grown too huge, so let’s Pay it Forward! 🙂

This week’s highlighted post is written from the vantage of an ancestry seeking middle ager, reflecting on his childhood in an Italian American family living in New York during the 1960s. Time and place are written so evocatively, you will see this family and feel their emotions and surroundings.  A most beautiful story, and one I’ve read, and re-read several times.  I shared this once as a “related link” but it’s well worth an “official” presentation:

http://mostlybrightideas.wordpress.com/zabaglione/

One of the best aspects of blogging is the opportunity to learn from others. Long time readers know I’m not the most organized seed sower nor am I adept at recognizing/naming wildflowers. Right now I could use some help identifying a plant!

Plant identification needed! 11/27/12 Vero Beach

The photo above gives you a good look at the leaf structure and flower bud; below, the plant is seen vertically, approximately 26″ tall.

Plant identification needed! 11/27/12

The part of the stem below the picture line is branched and woody, unlike the green section above it.  Initially I assumed some type of zinnia, but the woody stem threw me off; I also didn’t plant any zinnia seeds near this area.  Maybe a shrub?

If you have any ideas, do tell! 🙂

Until next time……

🙂 🙂 🙂

28 thoughts on “First Anniversary!

  1. Congrats on your first year, blogging is an amazing world! I like your pay it forward idea and will pop back to visit mostly bright later. I don’t recognise the plant but look forward to seeing the flowers and someone elses answers!

    • Thank you, Gilly,
      I haven’t gotten any closer to id-ing the plant! Cindy (a commenter further down) suggested Bee Balm, which is possible…lots of people here grow them so a “volunteer” may have seeded.
      Glad you liked the blog “sharing” idea! When I read how many billions of people use WordPress, I realized I must see blogs that others NEVER run across and vice versa. 🙂

    • “blogiversary!”……that’s the word that alluded me! At first I called it my blog “birthday” but that seemed wierd so I chose “anniversary” instead. Wish I’d seen your label first!

  2. Happy Anniversary! And that’s a great idea about sharing other blogs. Today’s offering was really interesting and something I hadn’t seen before. Thanks!

  3. I’m so glad to have found you, and that you’ve kept going. Happy Anniversary! I love your posts. Is this Monarda…bee balm? It is familiar looking to me, but I’m not sure.

  4. Congratulations on passing the one-year mark. That’s a lot of posts in twelve months. Keep it going.

    And thank you for the mention. That was unexpected, and nice.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate (2nd Submission) | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.