Katydid……Ewwwwww!!!!

Yesterday was a cool, grey day, the kind of weather that’s ideal for “chore” gardening.  The Ranchero gets majorly overgrown by holiday time, so I yanked at least 50% of the crowns of thorns and all but two oyster plants. Next, I’d hoped to prune the dead leaves from my Agave, but was stopped in my tracks by this:

20121230_172146OY!!!!!!!!!  EEK!!!!  YOWZAA!!!!! EXPLETIVE!!!!!!

Let me start by saying I’m just NOT a bug person! Embarrassing as this is for a Master Gardener, bugs (of any kind) send me running in the opposite direction… I literally jumped three feet at the sight of this one….then started taking pictures (thank you, telephoto lens!!)

Note the loonnnnggggg filamentous antennae that extend from the tip of the “nose” and curl beneath the insect’s body. (For a better look, click the picture to enlarge it)

Greater Angle Winged Katydid

As I researched my new “friend,” I realized I’d read about this bug–a Katydid–a million times: I just hadn’t seen one in person, nor did I associate the face to the name. This species, Microcentrum Rhombifolium, is common in Florida, and well camouflaged for feasting on citrus leaves with a body that looks identical to it’s very food!  Although sometimes confused with grasshoppers, katydids behave more like crickets, making noise at night..especially during mating season:

As you know, tonight is New Year’s Eve!

In keeping with this insect-themed post, let me take this opportunity to remind you:

Bee hovers on Mexican Donkey Ears, New Year's Eve, 2012

Bee Safe!

.If you go out tonight, use good judgment!

If you’re in recovery and tonight’s hard for you, use this resource for Narcotics Anonymous or this one for Alcoholics Anonymous. The voice on the other end of the line wiil direct you to the meeting or 24hr Alkathon nearest to your location.

🙂 🙂 Until next time….

New-Year-2013-Wallpapers-Wishes-Photos7

23 thoughts on “Katydid……Ewwwwww!!!!

  1. I’ve always liked the name “katydid.” Now I know what one looks like! So funny that you’re probably around bugs all the time, and you’re not a fan. ; )

    Hope you stay safe and healthy as we ring in 2013! Happy New Year!

  2. A lovely thought to end your post on, such positivity and caring!
    And yes ewwwww to bugs!
    Wishing you a wonderful, green fingered, joyful and peaceful New Year, Claire x

    • hahahahahaha!
      You wouldn’t believe the amount of Katydid articles on Google that begin with little quips as in: “katy.did scare me” or “katydid….oh no she didn’t” (urban body shake with the overhead finger snap implied!) Try as I might, I couldn’t think of anything similar that was slick and original (my mind was on geting out the door to pick up the traditional New Year’s Eve Chinese take-out.)
      so….this is my longwinded way of saying Thank you! I’m GLAD you read it the way I MIGHT have titled it, had I been of proper mindset. 🙂

  3. Great photos…I’d never seen a katydid before, either. Now I feel like I could easily recognize one. Thank you! A very happy and prosperous New Year to you, my friend!

    • Hi Cindy!
      I love your new gravatar! So pretty!
      After reading the comments I don’t feel so bad about NOT recognizing this bug…seems many didn’t put the name and insect together!
      Although you might easily recognize one, let’s hope you never need to! ha! Unless of course, you’re braver than I am. 🙂

  4. I didn’t realize you were a Master Gardener. It’s something on my bucket list although I don’t really have a green thumb, I love plants and have high regard for people who grow them well. Happy New Year!

    • Hello!
      I did the certification training right after the holidays last year. It was really interesting…so much to learn in such a short span of time, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. 🙂

  5. I’ve heard of katydids, but I had no idea what one looks like. Now I do! If it’s any consolation, I freak out with most bugs, too. Once, when we brought some container plants back inside for the winter, we awoke to slime trails on our wood floors. Slugs had come in with the plants. My skin still crawls just thinking about it!

    • ohhhhhhhh…..that just gave me an entire body shudder!!! Did you ever locate the sluggs???!!! the idea that you’d see the trail yet not know where they’d gone….well that’s just shudderific!!!

Comments are closed.