Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

There are so many ways to illustrate home and much of this blog is devoted to that context.  I’ve written of home in terms of loved ones,  physical places, and states of mind.

At its most basic, home is a sanctuary. Today I”ll show you local places and events where the welcome mat is always out and makes me feel at home:

1. My mother’s house:

IMAG1934

2. Ivana’s House

Ivana's Garden

3. Among the Master Gardeners:

20130202_135910

3. Seaside Grille

193819140657099

4. The Beach (this is Humiston Beach another local beach we frequent)

190753980963615

5, The Oceanside Farmers’ Market (across from Humiston Beach)

20130209_112223

6. Beachside at Humiston Park

20130209_113223

7. My backyard:

287275517978127

“What we call a home is merely any place that succeeds in making more consistently available to us the important truths which the wider world ignores, or which our distracted and irresolute selves have trouble holding onto.”

 

23 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

    • you know…it does!! I did some googling and judging from the images i absolutely agree with you. FYI: I took a look at your blog before doing your pingback (obviously,,,duh! 😉 ) and really liked it. 🙂

    • Yes, Vero Beach is a fabulous location and somewhat unknown. The overall area is known as the Treasure Coast and for geographical reasons I can’t fully understand the weather here is more stable than in the regions immediately north and south.

  1. You’re so lucky to live in such a beautiful region. It must be true joy to wake up every morning in such a gorgeous place. 🙂

    • Thanks!
      Oh I’ve had many a year with piles of the white stuff…how about when the snowbanks grow so tall at the corners and there’s NO hope of seeing around them? How many times can you pull out and pray no one slams you from that blind spot! That was my biggest fear about winter driving….eek! Another one was that my kids would walk atop those big piles, fall in, and not be seen ’til the thaw (not kidding! that was a HUGE stomach clencher!)
      anyway…..thank you for taking time and leaving a comment. I appreciate it!

  2. Wonderful “Home” .. I would love to be there at the moment as I live in the North Scandinavia – And we have grey and cold weather.. Thanks for visiting too 🙂

      • Thihi… You are so right – we have some great TV dramas which I have seen most of them of course… I hope one day my own books I am working on is going to be published for TV use as well, but it will take a few years I guess… 😉

Comments are closed.