Weeping Hibiscus, Red Crinum Lilies and other tropicals

When my mother was in the hospital, I couldn’t help noticing the neat, geometric plantings near the new Intensive Care Wing.  Look at these evenly spaced rows of mondo grass plugs: 😯

20130414_094948_LLS

Mondo grass is a clumping, sod-forming groundcover with finely textured, evergreen foliage.  Virtually pest and maintenance free, it will soon provide a handsome backdrop for the green culmed bamboos scattered throughout the design..

20130414_094629

On the opposite (original/older) side of the hospital, the E.R entrance is flanked by mature Giant Spider Lilies and Weeping Hibiscus trees:

20130413_101959-1

Weeping hibiscus trees are shrubs “trained” to form a single tree-like trunk. The classic Southern weeping hibiscus is the Anderson Crepe, a pink-flowering variety reaching 12-15′ tall at maturity.  Note the trunk has been wrapped inside a pole to discourage branching.

20130413_102122

When paired with the delicate beauty of hibiscus,  giant spider lilies look especially bold, yeah?

20130413_102043

Botanically speaking, these stunning plants are classified as Crinum Asiaticum, and are members of the Amaryllis (not lily) family.  And for those who like it REALLY technical, this red leaf form is further pigeon-holed as C. Procerum var. Splendens!

Confused yet? 🙄 Don’t be!

“Know me by my deep burgundy scape and highly fragrant flowers.” 🙂

20130413_102610

Until next time…….

🙂 🙂 🙂

10 thoughts on “Weeping Hibiscus, Red Crinum Lilies and other tropicals

  1. I do the same things noting the beautiful plantings and design in public gardens! One of our hospitals here had such beautiful hibiscus, when my Dad was in the hospital, he brought home cuttitngs and got one to root. It is a big amazing speciment that my mom named “Daddy”. I love the pink weeping variety! Are they not angelic???
    Hope you are back to your normal self, and no further pains!
    xoxo- Julie

    • yes! Angelic is the most perfect descritption!
      thank you so much for inquiring about my back…yesterday I resumed my normal gardening duties at Hallstrom House (our master gardener project) and although I somewhat took it easy, I felt ok!
      I got quite a chuckle re: your father taking cuttings as he was discharged from hosp! Is he the reason for youir love of plants?

  2. I hope and pray that your mom is doing okay and getting better. It inspires me to read your post. You see beauty and goodness around you. Love the hospital garden. Vibrant and wonderful. Thanks.

  3. I did a double take the first time I saw them trained as trees. Garden centers seem to be making trees out of many common shrubs these days. “New adventures in topiary” is how I’ve been describing it!

Comments are closed.