Macro Monday: Alocasia Macrorrhiza

I spent this past weekend in Daytona Beach and snapped quite a few pictures of the floral landscape around my daughter’s apartment.  While organizing the photos for a full length post, I realized two were PERFECT in size, name, and perspective for the the internet meme, Macro Monday:

20130623_071927Giant Taro (aka Alocasia Macrorrhiza ) is an herbaceous, tropical perennial and member of the aroid family. At maturity, the whole plant spreads 6-10 ft across, reaching heights of 12-15ft!  The arrow-shaped leaves are also gigantic, measuring 3-6 ft long by 2-4 ft wide. Unlike other “elephant ear” perennials, A Macrorrhiza holds its leaves upright via upright trunks and petioles.

Giant Taros spread by underground rhizomes that yield new plants if divided between the upright stems.  As you’ll see in the next photo, offsets often develop at the base of the original plant:

20130623_071841

I can say–with certainty–these little offshoots pull up quite easily. 🙂  They’re currently in water buckets, waiting to be re-planted in my backyard!

Until next time……

🙂 🙂 🙂

10 thoughts on “Macro Monday: Alocasia Macrorrhiza

  1. I recently learned that this is an edible crop in southeast asia. I was at a Vietnamese restaurant and they were serving a soup with parts of the taro plant – buds, I think. It was pretty good, but the taro itself didn’t seem to have a lot of flavor.

    • Your comment intrigued me so I did a little research. If you’d like to see the link I added re: “edible Taro” scroll up to ” Related Articles” at the bottom of my post.
      Thank you for broadening my knowledge!

    • Thanks Cindy!
      My daughter’s college apt has very “Old Florida” tree/floral plantings and I LOVE it! I grabbed quite a few things I haven’t grown yet, and am excited to get them inground. 🙂

    • They really do! I’ve changed my mind about where to plant the ones I “stole”…I think they should go in front of the house where they’ll be more visible. Not many people in Vero Beach grow these and I don’t know why! They grow all over the lower half of the state and are quite eye catching!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through Your Eyes | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.