Wordless Wednesday: July 24, 2013

Mid-summer and my vine wall has reached its peak.  Take a look at this series of pics and see if you don’t agree! 🙂

(ps. I hope you’ll scroll to the very bottom! I included a picture from when I started it, last summer.  WOW! )

Wild Alamanda, Passiflora Incense, Beach Sunflower, Red Cypress vines 7/23/13

Wild Alamanda, Passiflora Incense, Beach Sunflower, Red Cypress vines with Gulf Fritallary Butterfly, 7/23/13

Passiflora Incense Vine, 7/23/13

Vine Wall, June 24, 2013

and here’s the photo from last July (2012) when the 💡 switched on:

vine wall July, 2012

“I think I’ll start a vine wall!”

Until next time…….

waterandgro

26 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: July 24, 2013

  1. What a difference a year makes!! Second and third photos are just amazing!! Brilliant combination of flowers!! I just planted my first passion flower this year so hopefully next year I will have some flowers just like yours!

    • oh you will! and you’ll have passiflora vines popping up in crazy places you never anticipated! I just yank what I don’t want growing, but the flowers are so gorgeous it’s worth the effort. This season I’ve added two red blooming varieties; too early for flowers right yet, but soon enough

      Thank you so much for the kind compliments! !

    • In these pictures there are 3–the passiflora, red cypress vine, and yellow allamanda. The other yellow flower is a climbing beach sunflower variety that grows wild here. If it has something to lean on, it tends to grow “up” but otherwise it just scrabbles all over the ground.
      Also on this wall (although barely showing in these pics) is a vining cactus that goes by a zillion different common names so I’ll give you the botanical one instead: hylocereus undatus. Here’s a good picture of it from last fall before the rest of the plants took off!

    • You’re more than welcome! Somehow wordpress stopped sending me emails whenever you published a post! Now I’m aware I can’t rely of this “feature,” I’ll pop in manually from time to time!

  2. Karen your vine wall is amazing! We have been contemplating doing this for years and even started it once, but it did not go anywhere sadly (mostly due to my black, not green thumb 😦 ) You have given me some much needed inspiration!

    Suz

    • Your kind words are so appreciated! Thank you so much!
      I owe a great deal to the weather! My step-dad jokes that you could plant a 2×4 here and it would sprout roots and grow! LOL I think he might be right about that…stuff takes really easily in the Florida humidity!

  3. Pingback: Root Root, Dragon Fruit! :) | small house/BIG GARDEN
  4. Pingback: A new growing season begins! | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.