Am I Going Bananas?

You’ve heard of Lucky Bamboo?  Well this is my Lucky Banana.  From the day we moved here, it was nothing but a leafless stem in the deep-shade corner of the back yard.  Well, not any more!

20130904_115733

This past February I realized it was still struggling, so moved it to a sunny spot along the vine wall.  It seems quite happy now and perhaps in time will even bear fruit. 🙂   I’d love to know the exact variety/botanical name. Any ideas?

I might have another set of bananas on my hands, but I’m not sure!  Take a look and then I’ll share the backstory:

20130904_115253

The two plants in this container were  found along the back fence when Jack was digging a new garden bed for me on Mother’s Day.  They were both small, with one set of leaves and a rhizomatous, pad-like root structure.  I thought they might be cannas, but without a distinct bulb among the roots, it seemed unlikely.  I only know for sure that I didn’t plant them; they appeared for the first time ever this spring, but the leaves were pretty (and the roots healthy) so into a container they went.

20130904_115633

In the picture above, the container is placed next to an ensete glauca (aka snow banana) that’s been growing in my Ranchero garden for the same length of time.  I see some similarities among their pseudostems and leaves: could the mystery plants also be bananas, albeit a much smaller variety?

In the next photo, they look less like the in-ground ensete and more like I-don’t-know-what!  😉

20130904_115654 I keep hoping they’ll suddenly grow a flower spike and reveal themselves as gingers!

Or maybe, I’m just going bananas?  🙄 🙂 🙄

If anyone recognizes these plants, do share!

Until next time….

🙂 🙂 🙂

12 thoughts on “Am I Going Bananas?

  1. those are DEFINITELY banana plants 🙂 OMG i would be thrilled for you to have bananas throwing off those trees 🙂 Maybe fore Xmas vacation with Jack and TC we could make banana pancakes (no flour, just banana, an egg, and blueberries :D) Let’s hope for the best! The tree looks strong

    • When I was researching bananas I was amazed at all the different varieties and locations from which they come! I always thought of them as a one type thing from Chiquita! hahahahaha how simplistic, right!?

Comments are closed.