Passiflora “Lady Margaret” and other Varieties

Passiflora produce one of the most exotic blooms in the plant kingdom, with a large array of colors and forms. I’m slowly collecting different cultivars, the most recent being Lady Margaret, a red variety whose tendrils have clambered up my vine wall since early June.

Passiflora Lady Margaret, 9/10/13

Lady Margaret was hybridized in 1991 by crossing Passiflora Coccinea (red) with Passiflora Incarnata (purple).  The result was an evergreen vine with 3-lobed foliage and one of the most stunning raspberry colored flowers you’ll ever see:

Passiflora Lady Margaret, 9/7/13

These complex, bowl-shaped flowers are 3-4″ wide with fleshy white stigma surrounded by thick stamens. Both sepals and petals are red but some of the petals are modified into coronal filaments that act as flags for pollinators to spot at a distance.

Passiflora Lady Margaret, pic 2, 9/7/13

Here’s a diagram to help you visualize the reproductive process:

Passiflora_description

Lady Margaret is hardy outdoors in Zones 8 and above; any further north I’d suggest using hanging baskets or pots, to be moved inside when temps dip lower than 55 (F) degrees..

I’m excited to have another red passiflora variety growing along my back fence.  It was a recent pass-along from a friend unsure of its variety.  I suspect it is P. Coccinea which is fairly common around these parts and has foliage similar to mine:

Red Passiflora, unknown cultivar, 9/10/13
You’ve seen my other Passionvines before but they’re definitely worth a second look: (click to enlarge)

Now I’m off to finish planting some fall seeds…more about that in another post! 🙂

Until next time…..

patthedirt

16 thoughts on “Passiflora “Lady Margaret” and other Varieties

  1. Those are awesome blooms! I just wish WordPress was as awesome about fixing the notifications fiasco! (Maybe if we all complain in posts and comments they’ll get serious about fixing the problem. 😉 )

  2. EXCELLENT POST! I had a Passion Vine in Mississippi that I had wanted so bad for it to flower. I babied it, and even brought it indoors for the winter a couple of years. Last spring, I was looking at it and say seed pod. How it flowered without my noticing was beyond me! I have no clue what species it was or anything. The packet of seeds that Suzanne had bought said “Passion Flower” and that was it…

    • Oh, you should! All the passifloras grow so fast and multiply in various places in the yard so it’s easy to pull up these offshoots and start them in pots to create hanging basket gifts to pass along to friends and family!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated (2nd Submission) | small house/BIG GARDEN
  4. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: 7/7/14 | small house/BIG GARDEN
  5. Pingback: My First Passiflora Hybrid | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.