New Addition to the Vine Wall

Cape Honeysuckle (aka Tecoma capensis) is one of those rampant shrubs you either love or hate!  It spreads like mad and tends to overtake the ground around it, but for gardeners entranced by the bold and beautiful (c’est moi! 😉 ) this winter bloomer is sure to please!

Tecoma capensis, 11/27/13My first awareness of this South African native occured last winter while I was weeding the wildflower garden at Hallstrom House.  By chance, I noticed a T. capensis sucker scrabbling across the ground and the rest as they say, is history ➡ I dug it up and brought it home to my vine wall, where it happily put down new roots!

Tecoma capensis and Passiflora lady Margaret,11/26/13

Cape Honeysuckle is one of 650 species in the bignonia plant family of woody stemmed ornamentals. It has finely textured, pinnately compound leaves and elongated racemes of 3″ long funnelform flowers: The next two pictures show the flower clusters as they look prior to opening. (click if you’d like to enlarge them!)

Cape Honeysuckle is hardy to zone 9 and prefers full sun.  Careful monitoring is needed to keep it in check, and a hard prune suggested for late winter to ensure heavy blooming the following year.

And now it’s time to start baking for tomorrow!  We’re celebrating Thanksgiving at my mother’s house, and bringing the sweet potatoes and cornbread. 🙂

I want you all to know how much I appreciate everyone who’s made blogging so educational and fun for me. Thank you!

Until next time…..

Carve The Turkey Happy Thanksgiving Carve The Turkey

16 thoughts on “New Addition to the Vine Wall

  1. Anything that flowers – especially with such dramatic effect – in winter must be accommodated, however much grooming it requires! Here, our great winter flowerer is the Venusta (Pyrostegia venusta) – which produces solid walls of deep orange tubes. Exciting stuff. I especially like how your tecoma came into the garden … free is always best! 🙂

  2. Ahhhh the Cape Honeysuckle… that grows so well with the plumbago (Plumbago auriculata)… if you want a real showy bush area you plant the Honeysuckle and the Plumbago together, they intertwine and can grow to quite a height giving a magnificent show of reds, orange and blue all intermixed… I must dig out my photos of a garden I laid-out for a mine in the hotter area of RSA where I used this to screen of a not so good area to look at… being a mine the plants had to be indigenous and this worked so well and they ..more than happy at the result of colour mix… we controlled their height at 8 ft.

    • what a fantastic idea for a plant combo! One entire side of my house is flanked by a huge plumbago hedge, and I think I’ll try transplanting a few of my smaller Cape Honeysuckles among it. Thank you for this great tip!

  3. I love the vibrant orange/red colours on this little shrub.
    I hope your Thanksgiving goes well! I shall think of all you guys across the pond as I work away at my desk 😦 !

    • Hello my British friend!
      Yes we did have a good holiday and my daughter and I have been plowing through our Christmas shopping since yesterday morning! (brief break now to check email, etc and then we’re heading back out! 🙂 )
      Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!

    • Thanks, JM! it was fun! We went to my mother’s and like every other American this week, will continue to eat leftovers until we’re totally turkey-ed out! 🙂
      I hope your weekend has been equally great?!

  4. Pingback: More Spring! | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.