Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

Before last weekend, I’d NEVER been to a county fair, but there are good reasons for this.
1. I’m a city person who never lived–even remotely–near a farm.
2. I’m from Massachusetts where counties were all but abolished twenty years ago.
So when the call went out for Master Gardeners to sell entrance tickets at the Indian River County Agricultural Fair, I quickly agreed.  As the young ‘uns say, I’m always “down with” a new experience.

At the end of my shift, I followed the hordes inside to have a gander….but found this Wyandotte instead: 😉

Silver Laced Wyandotte, 3/15/14  Firemans' Fair, Indian River County

Actually there were hundreds, 2-3 inside each cage, all  part of a  Silent Poultry Auction to benefit IRC’s 4-H Club.

Silver Laced Wyandottes, 3/15/14  Firemans' Fair, Indian River CountyInside a nearby pen, a new lamb (born 3/10) struggled on wobbly leggies toward its mother; baby animals are too sweet! 🙂

Ewe and baby, 3/15/14  Firemans' Fair, Indian River CountyThere were also many pigpens inside the barn. Too bad the sun was at my 12o’clock for this one.  I like how it illustrates this week’s theme!

Inside the stys, 3/15/14  Firemans' Fair, Indian River County

A short walk from the livestock area brought me inside the midway which was exactly like every urban parking-lot carnival I’ve seen since the ’70s. Much more familiar territory, this

Inside the Midway, 3/15/14  Firemans' Fair, Indian River County

If it’s fried food you want, you can get it here ➡ food trucks of every ethnic persuasion offered the BEST selection of decadent desserts from fried twinkies to soft-serve ice cream. Shhhhh! Don’t tell the piggies a few photos back, but I REALLY enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich and ordered a soft serve even though dairy gives me a stomach ache. Inside the midway, caution gets thrown to the winds! 🙂

After all that food, a long stroll through the vending area is required exercise. Inside this booth, I saw some very tacky T-shirts!

Inside a T-shirt booth, 3/15/14  Firemans' Fair, Indian River County

and look…there’s shadow-me and my shadow-friend Ralph inside the shot.

A good time was had by all!

See other entries for this week’s challenge by clicking the Zemanta related links below!

Until next time…..

🙂 🙂 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
15 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

  1. Pingback: On the Inside | Words 'n Pics...
  2. Pingback: What’s Going On | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
    • Thank you!
      Yes, the animals and 4-H exhibits were really great. I’m absolutely AMAZED at how diligently these kids worked on their projects, and the care with which they documented everything in their notebooks. More needs to be said in the media about all the hardworking, GOOD young people, and less about the thuggish ones…I’ve always believed more of them fall in the “good” category….we just don’t hear about them often enough!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge; Inside | NOE Style
  4. Hohoho… I hope it’s not serious problem with your stomach. 😉 and by the way… I wand the orange shirt one 😀

  5. Plenty of county fairs while I was growing up in Illinois. 🙂 And, of course, the big state fair in August. I haven’t been to one in ages, though—probably because I’ve turned into more of a city girl than I ever dreamed possible!

  6. Pingback: Inside The American Dream | this man's journey
  7. I have never been on country fairs. Thus I found Your photos very interesting! I am sure that I would have stopped by T-shirt shops. 🙂

  8. I love country life and country fairs are fun and exciting. A good learning for kids and for those who forgot that they were kids once. Thanks for a great adventure. Have a great week.

Comments are closed.