In a Vase on Monday: 6/30/14

Today I stumbled across a blog challenge called “In a Vase on Monday” which inspired me to trim some leggy perennials and bring a little sunshine indoors.  Because the flowers were all red and yellow, I paired them with the similarly toned 1960s ceramic rooster my mother bought for me when I was too cheap to ante up the 10 bucks at a local yard sale. (Thanks Ma! 🙂 )

20140630_164534

Rudbeckia, Gaillardia, Mandevilla, and Cosmos: In a Vase on Monday

You’ve seen these GaillardiaCosmos and Mandevilla many times before, but this is the first year I’ve grown Black Eyed Susan (aka Rudbeckia hirta.)

Black-Eyed Susans are perennial daisies or coneflowers, members of the sunflower family (Asteraceae). The flower heads measure 2 to 3 inches in diameter with yellow rays circling a dark-brown, spherical center. Commonly found in fields and on roadsides, they bloom between May and August, reaching 2 to 3 feet in height. They are native to the United States, east of the Rocky Mountains but have naturalized throughout the entire country and into Canada.

Although quite boring common, everything in the vase blooms reliably in June/July despite the full-on sun of a Florida summer…and that’s good enough for me! 😉

For other Monday Vases, click on Rambling in the Garden and the Zemanta related links below.

Until next time…

🙂 🙂 🙂

Related articles

36 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: 6/30/14

  1. Your arrangement is nicely done and the setting you chose makes a great photograph. I’ve been joining Cathy in the Monday vases for a while now and am finding it so much fun.

  2. I think there is no flower that is boring when placed in a vase… who notices what flowers are in the vase, I just see all the beautifully created colours and that is good enough for me… and this vase is no different, I love it…

    • Thanks friend!
      I must admit I was more in the habit of bringing flowers indoors when I lived in MA, probably because the space was so clearly demarcated between indoors and out. Here (and I bet where you are, too) the houses have a more open flow with sliding doors/patios/lanais blending the two together.

  3. Thank you for mentioning my blog! I had to come and visit, and I love your vase. It’s so cheerful – especially the Rooster! Will you be joining in with the challenge on a regular basis? I keep promising to!

  4. Honestly your flowers are some of the prettiest flora I’ve ever seen. You have a wonderful gift for growing them and a talent for arranging them beautifully. That rooster is a handsome fellow too. 🙂

  5. Thanks for joining in – if you leave a comment on my blog you can put a link to this post and then more people can share it. I love the cockerel too – is it a vase? I have some like this but not in the form of a vase, or perhaps it is a jug? The colours of your blooms are a brilliant choice – is that frilly one the gaillardia?

  6. I lOVE this! Black-eyed Susans grow wild on the bank beside our drive. Our first dog was an English setter with a large black patch over one eye. I asked my children what we should call the new puppy, and my oldest son suggested we call her Black-eyed Susan when he spotted the flower. He was age five at the time. Her official name was Black-eyed Susan, but we quickly nicknamed her Susie. I always remember her when these lovely wildflowers bloom each year.

    • I always love pet naming stories and your Susie has a great one! We had a stray cat crawl onto the porch of our summer house during a terrible storm. Right as the kids noticed her, there was a huge thunder clap. Of course we ended up keeping the poor thing and of course they named her “Thunder.” (They were all quite young at the time and thought it brilliant 🙂 )
      You’ve got some experience with these Rudbeckia..have they been invasive for you?

  7. What a lovely cheery arrangement. That vase is just the crowning touch.

    I haven’t grown Rudbeckia, but am planning to. I would call them an aggressive plant here in Maryland, but not an invasive one. I suspect a fair bit of the spreading is due to reseeding, so you could dead head to keep it to a minimum.

    • yes, deadheading really gets down on spreading. I was religious about it with some coreopsis that overtook waaaaayyy to much space and a year llater they’re all but eliminated!

  8. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: 7/7/14 | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.