My First Passiflora Hybrid

Last September I read an article about hybridizing passifloras and decided to give it a shot.  I can’t believe my first (and only) attempt worked! Take a look at this incredible case of beginner’s luck and then scroll below for details.

20140710_152025

Crossing passifloras involves little more than tweezing off the pollen-laden anthers of one variety (the father) and rubbing them across the stigmas of a different variety (the mother.) If the process works, the mother plant shows a bulge in the ovary within a few days. Over the next 4-6mos–when conditions are right, and in Florida they typically are–the bulge matures into a fruit containing seeds for a new hybrid.

20140710_152000

Who’s your daddy??! 🙂

At the time of this experiment, all three of my passionvines had open flowers.  I chose P. incense as the mother because it was the most mature passiflora in the garden.  Being an excessive wierdo, I decided P. lady margaret and  P. alatocaerulea should be “co-fathers.”  🙂

I’m no botanist, so I’m uncertain 3 varieties can combine in a single event…but looking at the new flower’s characteristics makes me think it’s possible.  In this hybrid I see the shape of Lady Margaret, the paleness of Alatocaerulea and the spotted reproductive structures of Incense.

20140710_151954

When labelling new crosses, maternal names precede paternal in a strict botanical format: Passiflora incense x alatocaerulea x lady margaret.   I’m usually a stickler for such things, but Maggie dubbed it Passiflora esta and I fell in love with the name.  Find out why by clicking  here. 🙂

Until next time…

🙂 🙂 🙂

24 thoughts on “My First Passiflora Hybrid

  1. I am so impressed with your hybridizing! I clicked on the link, and though I learned a great deal, I don’t know if our climate and short growing season would accomplish much. Fascinating post!

    • I think the climate here had great impact on the success. Seeds that drop over the winter do especially well here.

      I suppose in colder areas you’d have to collect the seed and wait ’til spring thaw to plant it, but that involves more planning/work than most people are willing to do…esp for uncertain results.
      LOL I’d probably lose the seeds over the winter…I’m famous for “putting things in a safe place” and then totally forgetting where the place is!

  2. I’m happy and excited for your. To create something that beautiful and exotic truly is an amazing feeling. Love the name too. Always a fan of tropical flowers! Have a great week ahead.

  3. Passiflora esta is perfect for the flower. I must say that’s one of the neatest looking flower I’ve ever seen. Way to go Karen! 🙂

  4. I will content myself with vicariously enjoying the results of your hybridization experiments rather than attempting my own. 🙂 I’d say you’re off to a great start!

Comments are closed.