Wordless Wednesday: 7/30/14 (Verbena Surprise)

I love when flowers appear unexpectedly!

This “volunteer” is a phlox variety  although the leaves seem a bit veiny?  I’ve included additional pics from different angles so let me know if you can I.D. it!

(Edit: 8/3/14: The comments overwhelmingly identified this plant as a Verbena, specifically Verbena canadensis ‘Rosea.’  See comment from Theshrubqueen below)

20140728_181929

Somehow it grew in a perfectly located forgotten container! Such a nice accent for the pink Fingerpaint brom (Neoregelia spectabilis.)

20140728_181945

…here’s another view with Gaillardia Torch Red Ember in the background.

20140728_181845

Seed germination in unexpected spots is not as easy as you might think! Recently, my blog friend–a felllow Treasure Coast resident–George Rogers wrote a VERY informative, entertaining post on the subject.

For more on Wordless Wednesday, click the WW blog/linkup at the Jenny Evolution.

Until next time….

🙂 🙂 🙂

 Related articles

15 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: 7/30/14 (Verbena Surprise)

  1. It’s bright beautiful flowers reminds us that Summer is still here and everyday, new amazing surprises awaits. Hope you are having the best of Summer my friend. I am now on my way to the Philippines to join my wife and son. My last post were pictures from a trip 2 years ago but the words were meant for the present. I left in 2003. I was 31. My world went in a roller coaster ride after. Ha, ha, ha. Fun sometimes. Scary other times. Never a dull moment though. All the best to you and family.

Comments are closed.