Mid October Flowers

The 85-90° heat has broken!

As I type this, it’s sunny, clear and 71°F, a perfect morning to move around the garden. 🙂  The Super Cosmos (as I call them) are having their fullest/tallest bloom cycle ever, several reaching 10ft!

Super Cosmos, 10ft tall!

After conserving energy in the long Florida summer, the vine wall is waking up nicely.  Tecoma capensis (aka Cape Honeysuckle) is a particularly welcome sight.

Tecoma capensis

And here it is again, peeking through Passiflora foliage and a string of Ipomoea quamoclit (aka Red Cypress Vine.)

T. capensis and I. quamoclit on the vine wall

Now this next plant is one I really hate!! Lantana camara is too common and rough-leafed for my taste, but it came with the house and photographs well:

Lantana camara

I have strong feelings in the opposite direction for Primrosewillow: love every variety including Ludwegia peruviana, a Category 1 invasive. In my yard it appears only singly/randomly, so I’m not too worried about it…yet. This morning it looked particularly cheery.

Ludwegia peruviana

I’m thrilled to see a flower forming on the Cattleya hybrid (aka Potinara Elaine TayIor) purchased in February 2013.  Like most orchids, it was in bud when I brought it home, but lain dormant ever since!

Potinara Elaine Taylor in bud

Cast your eye to the left in the image above. What looks like the trunk of a young tree, is actually a Cosmos stem! (Now you know why I’ve dubbed them “Super!!”) I think there may be wierd, GMO/Monsanto sh*t going on here! 😉

Until next time…

🙂 🙂 🙂

hay-ride

17 thoughts on “Mid October Flowers

  1. Wow I love that your orchids just grow in the soil… we pamper ours till they die,,,, the lantana you can keep, hate it and its invasive growth here…. but the Cape honeyscukle planted next to plumbago… what a sight… both indigenous here and often seen together the one supporting the other…. a truely beautiful sight….

    • I never thought about planting the Cape honeysuckle near my plumbago, but of course the dang lantana has already made inroads there. I should pull it up before it gets too entrenched and replace it with the honeysuckle!

  2. How I agree with you about the Lantana! It’s a noxious plant, even if it does photograph nicely – here, in fact it’s a ‘declared’ weed, which means we can’t grow it any more (thank goodness). Both here and in Sri Lanka it was imported by ‘homesick’ Brits wanting pretty flowers for a cottage garden and then it got away! In SL I’ve seen it invade lowland scrub forest, taking over to such an extent even the elephants couldn’t get through – creating wastelands. Awful. 😦

    • I yanked up the biggest bush 2 yrs ago but some of it escaped and now it’s growing through a plumbago hedge on the opposite side of the house. Annoying!
      P.s. How is life in Australia? Are you fully settled in as if you never left? “Home” can be like that and I never quite decided if that is good or bad!

      • I’d have been surprised if one extraction would eradicate the brute! Good luck – you will eventually win, but it needs to be tackled continually, I fear 🙂 Funny about settling in – some things are easy, others incredibly difficult. I’m glad I’m here, and bathe in the beauty of the place, but I don’t feel connected … it’s a work in progress, I guess! What about you, home from your travels …

  3. All your pictures are vividly beautiful, Karen, but the Cape Honeysuckles are my favorites. When I was a little girl, we washed out little jars that pimentos had come in and filled them with honeysuckles, and for Sunday dinners every person had a tiny arrangement next to their dinner plates. Thanks for the memory!

  4. Those super cosmos are something else! Thoughts of those old sci-fi “B” movies spring to mind—radiation exposure, alien invasion…. You might have a story in those plants! 🙂

  5. October is a wonderful month. Weather cooler with colors of Summer still excitingly alive among flower blooms. The Super Cosmos seems to be reaching for the sky…just dreamy and inspiring! Thanks.

Comments are closed.