Royal Pavilion Gardens: Brighton and Hove (Part 2)

King George IV‘s former Brighton palace defies description, although Taj Mahal West seems pretty apt. 😉 Completed in 1823, this blend of minarets and onion domes is an arresting sight against the bright blue sky.

Royal Pavilion Brighton, September, 2014

The Pavilion and Gardens were designed by architect John Nash and William Townsend Aiton, founder of the Royal Horticultural Society. Both viewed buildings and landscapes as part of a picturesque whole, combining trees, shrubs and plants along carriageways leading to the Palace.

royalpaviliongardenpath

Their goal was to create the accidental effects of the “countryside” in a series of changing patterns as people approached the building.

Yellow Helianthus

In the early 2000s, the gardens were revamped to exacting standard and historic accuracy. Everything growing today is typical of the Regency Period.  Strolling the grounds is like stepping back in time!

royalpavillionshrubbery

This next image is one of my favorites from our entire trip. 🙂 What a beautiful Buddleia!

royalpavillionstatuehotpinkshrub

Unexpected textures and shapes were everywhere. Look at these Hydrangeas!

Royal Pavilion Hydrangeas

My knowledge of Mediterranean zone plants is fairly lacking! Might this be Killarney Strawberry tree (Arbutus unedo?) The leaves don’t look quite right, but what a pretty shrub!

IMG_2761

I’ve Googled (hard!) and also asked a few gardening friends about this next “unknown.”  No luck!  Any ideas?

Who am I?

Who am I?

I do however know Fuchsia! I grew quite a few in Massachusetts and was thrilled to see this vibrant specimen!

Fuschia

The Asters were everywhere, but I liked these best:

Aster amellus "Violet Queen"

As we were leaving, I noticed something else I couldn’t quite identify. Eupatorium? Some kind of Verbena? Oy..I have a lot to learn!  🙂  (Nice iron scrolled fencing, though!)

Iron Fence

For further info and scheduled events, check out the Royal Pavilion official site.

Until next time!

🙂 🙂 🙂

20 thoughts on “Royal Pavilion Gardens: Brighton and Hove (Part 2)

  1. I was only in that area once years ago and didn’t realise they had such lovely gardens. Something to think about if I’m ever all the way over there again!

  2. Sorry no, not a strawberry tree, they are rose hips, I’m fairly sure its a prickly wild rose which also fits with the orange seeds. I think they are a form of wild iris!

  3. Thank you for taking us back in time. The palace…just beautiful and the garden, full of exciting, exotic, radiant blooms. It’s a wonderland of plants and flowers. For a moment, I felt like a royalty.Have a great weekend. Best of blessings to you and your family.

  4. We really enjoyed the floral show all over England in September. Around here, flowers are usually looking more than a little tired by then. But those milder summers must be heaven for so many plants. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Serenity | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.