Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready

As gardeners, we spend considerable time planning the best use of our available land.. Where should I place the vegetables? What spot is best for sun exposure?  Is that the best sight line for a small tree?  As you tick off the answers, patterns of land use emerge. Soon you have your garden’s perimeter and ask, “should I edge it with pavers or river rock? Does it matter either way?”

Yes, it does, and this little creature is why:

Ready for Liftoff

Ready for Liftoff!!

Who knew dragonflies are attracted to light colored river rocks?   I had no idea!

In its previous incarnation, the Ranchero was a Koi pond surrounded by river rocks.   When I moved to small house, I threw out the plastic pond insert and enlarged the area by half, meaning I was short on river rocks to edge my new garden space.  Rather than buy additional ones (waaayyyyy expensive) I intended to use cement curbing I’d gotten for free but, you guessed it….not enough of that either…

….so I finished the project with a few feet of river rocks and set about “hiding” the evidence with Kalanchoe diagremontiana like you see in the picture.

Who knew dragonflies are attracted to “mother of thousands” kalanchoe?  Again, I had no idea!

Unexpectedly the stars had aligned, bringing  life to my yard and adding quite nicely to my land use plan!  🙂

Until next time….

25 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready

  1. Weren’t you lucky to have your camera in hand to nab that shot. Dragonflies are so cool. We have an abundance of them here in Virginia. They remind me of mini-helicopters buzzing about. Ain’t mother-nature grand?

  2. Great shot! Lots of Dragonflies up here in Western NY. Looking forward for them to show up cause’ I know it is sunny when they are here!

    • pretty amazinig, isn’t it?

      and to anyone else who happens by: regarding the pingback (below) to Eliz’s Mirth and Motivation entry…so many pictures of good food!!! If you’re hungry or on a diet, her posting will have you “ready” to eat! 😉

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready… | Mirth and Motivation
  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready « Mike Hardisty Photography
  5. Pingback: Ready to Leave: Weekly Photo Challenge (Ready) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL

Comments are closed.