Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement

I love how these weekly challenges are falling into my lap lately!

Just after sunset on June 28, I heard a few rolls of thunder and noticed the wind picking up.  Because I’m famous for dropping watering cans all over the place, I went outside to secure my stray missiles!  What happened next is something I HATE: I heard a buzzing sound and got bopped on the head!!!!!

EWWWW! BUG!

Fortunately, the movement I’d felt was merely the beating wings of a moth…..one I’d never seen before, so I ran for the camera:

Clearwing Hummingbird Moth

Clearwing Hummingbird Moth on Zinnia Elegans, Ranchero

Clearwing Hummingbird Moths (aka Hemaris Thysbe) are 1.5 to 2″ long, greenish and burgundy in color, with pale-colored legs. This is very defintely a moth of North America, with a range that extends from Alaska/Southern Canada across to the Maritimes, downward to Florida and everywhere in between!  It can easily be mistaken for a hummingbird, especially in sideview:

Clearwing Hummingbird Moth


Drinking nectar via proboscis

Note the movement of it’s wings!  The moth hovered briefly, sipping for only a few seconds before flitting off!

I was so thrilled to photograph this unexpected visitor….and since I hate posts with loose ends almost as much as bops to the head 😉 I’ll leave you with an FYI ➡ it never did rain that night! 🙂

Until next time….

🙂 🙂

19 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement

  1. Wonderful hummingbirds! One of my favorite views was hummingbirds flitting around the flowers hanging from the beams of the pergola. But I live next to the Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs, and the awful smoke and ashes from the big fire ruined those views. So I especially enjoyed your pictures. Thank you.

  2. Love the blog name – that’s the criteria we used when we bought our house, too!

    That moth is incredible. Nice picture!

Comments are closed.