Wordless Wednesday: March 20, 2013

With Easter only 11 days away, I think it’s the perfect time for a bunny photo!

20130316_133845

These little, round marsh rabbits are a common sight at Jaycee Beach; not surprising since females begin breeding at nine months and reproduce several times a year!

Litters consist of 4-5 young born in fur-lined nests on the ground. The babies are weaned in less than 3 weeks when they start eating tender green plants and clover. 🙂

Adult marsh rabbits are approximately 15″ long, with small hindlegs and feet that facilitate swimming among the local coastal islands. When on land, they prefer walking over hopping.

If you arrived here via my blog’s home page you may have noticed the badge for National Wildlife Week.   I highly recommend visiting their site and  getting involved with their tree planting initiative, Branch Out For Wildlife.

Until next time……

🙂 🙂 🙂

17 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: March 20, 2013

  1. Back in Illinois, it was a battle to see my bulbs bloom before the rabbits ate them! And then there were the nests and “trial scrapes” all over the yard…. 😉

  2. What a cute bunny rabbit. They look so huggable… mmm but I guess it could get ugly if you tried to hug a wild one. lol
    I thought of this post when I saw a great big bunny rabbit next to our driveway. I guess for them it’s Spring time and they’re ready to go forth and populate. 😉

Comments are closed.