So this is what May looks like!

Although moderate drought conditions still exist in Indian River County, the Vero Beach area set a few records last month for daily rainfall amounts.  As the old adage goes, April showers bring May flowers; nowhere is this more evident than in the gardens of Small house!

Backyard Overview,  May, 2012

View from the Screened Porch

 Lily Area, May 2012

Of all the plants I’ve grown or bought, lilies are my favorites. When we lived up north, our front yard was covered with any pink variety I could find, like this asiatic/trumpet hybrid:

Lily Scarlet Delight

Lily “Scarlet Delight”

Of three Scarlet Delight bulbs I planted last November, this one matured much quicker than the others; both are still in the foliage stage, and will (hopefully!) show buds by the end of the month. 🙂

Also in November, I planted 3 Blackberry Lily bulbs, whose tall, sword-shaped foliage you see in the lily area picture, next to Scarlet Delight.  Although they don’t look the part, blackberry lilies are members of the Iris family.  With foliage so strong and healthy, I’m expecting great things from these bulbs!  Pictures to follow, of course! 😉

The nicest garden surprise this month arrived two days ago when a Dietes Bicolor bud began to open:

Dietes BicolorDietes Bicolor fully open

Dietes Bicolor,  colloquially known as  “Butterfly Flags”  are also a form of Iris. The classmate who gave me this Apostle Plant  gave me two huge D. Bicolor clumps on Graduation Day. I had no idea how delicate and pretty they’d become! 🙂  Wow!

Another huge shock was a Caladium flower scape appearing overnight among the leaves:Caladium Carolyn Wharton with Flower Scape!

Some growers feel the emergence of caladium flowers impedes the plant’s leaf growth, and suggest snipping them the second you see one forming. 😮 I haven’t found diminished leaf development to be a problem but that may be a function of my tropical zone; your experience may differ! Nevertheless, I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve seen a caladium flower in my lifetime—NO WAY would I nip one in the bud (so to speak!)

If you haven’t noticed my recent “Flower of the Month” (Opuntia Humifusa,) here’s another glimpse: a different prickly pear bloom is just about to open:

Prickly Pear and Amaryllis

Remember how terrible my orange tree looked a few months back?  Big changes there, and I’m so happy about it!  Take a look:

Honeybell Orange Tree

Lookin’ good…..

Honeybell Orange 2

….and feelin’ fine!

Jobe's Spikes!

You can easily tell where I pounded each spike! 🙂   And because there’s a section where the drip line of the orange tree intersects  that of the Hong Kong Orchid look what happened there:

Bauhinia Bloom out of season!

“What have you done to me, crazy lady!?!?”

🙂  Creepy!!!  Blooming 6 months out of season, and ONLY in the “spiked” section! Creepy again! 😉

So there you have it…One week into May and it’s a veritable Garden of Eden!  I’m definitely enjoying every minute of it!!  🙂

Until next time….

19 thoughts on “So this is what May looks like!

    • thank you so much! When it starts hitting the 90s in a few weeks, keeping things lush and green won’t be too easy! lots of hand watering as we’re only allowed to use irrigation systems twice per week!

  1. I dug up a caladium – coco yam – in the forest in Nigeria, carried it with me for days and then left it behind. I was gutted but probably would have been in trouble if i’d got caught bringing it into the country!

  2. I’m going to have a lot of fun – and green envy – following your blog. Gardening is a big challenge in Calgary, Canada. I’m excited because I have a 90% return rate on my perennials this year – but lost a rose and iris which are two of the hardest to kill off – even with our wacky winters!

    • hello! Thanks for the nice compliments! I must confess to being fascinated by Canada. I’ve only been to Toronto and Montreal, the former impressing me most with the unusually deep green, lush, soft grass and overall leafiness of summer! I truly didn’t expect that, being the season is short, like the Massachusetts one where I lived prior to 2.5 yrs ago!
      One place I really want to see is your NWT…I’ve researched and read much about it (historical and agricultural materials) and would love to see it in person.
      Have you ever been there?
      before i turn this into its own blog post, I better just say thanks again and sign off!
      🙂

  3. Pingback: Lucifer Crocosmia | Landscaping - Gardening
  4. oh my word! I so need your expertise. I am thinking to add pink lilies to my landscaping. thank you for finding me… i look forward to reading thru your posts and learning more.

    • Lilies are my absolute all time fave plants! Probably because they were reliable in the north and I knew the bulbs would make it thru winter to bloom another spring! How can you not bond with hardiness, yeah? 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth | small house/BIG GARDEN

Comments are closed.